

Eastern Kentucky Workforce Innovation Board (EKWIB) Meeting Minutes March 13, 2024

EKWIB Members

Bruce Carpenter Travis Cox Vince Minix Keith Gabbard - Chair **Raymond Banks Tracey Smith** Tonia Prewitt Frank Dawahare – Vice Chair Paul Dole **Brent Sturgill Dennis Messer Kevin Chesnut** Paul Patton Tanelle Sawyer **Rusty Justice** Colby Kirk

Absent EKWIB Members

Jared Arnett Roger McGinnis Michael Lasslo Jennifer Lindon Jeff Johnson Kim Combs Brandon Smith

Guests

Mike Fine	Gregory Caudill	Larissa Gilreath	Gilbert Holland
Beth Spencer	Martina Roe	Donna Pace	
Allison Brown	Brian Fields	Amber Teverbaugh	

EKCEP Staff

Rebecca Miller – Executive Director Bridget Back Tonya Collins Cris Ritchie Michele Whitlock Sharon Poff Travis Winkler Tesa Turner Dottie Nolan

Minutes

The Eastern Kentucky Workforce Innovation Board (EKWIB) held its quarterly meeting on March 13, 2024 at 2:00 p.m. The meeting was conducted via zoom.

Welcome & Call to Order

EKWIB's Acting Board Chair, Frank Dawahare called the meeting to order. All board members were reminded to have their cameras on during roll call and voting. The roll call resulted in 16 WIB members being in attendance.

Election of WIB Board Chair (Vote Required)

Mike Fine discussed the vacancy of the WIB Board Chair. Nominations were requested via email and Keith Gabbard was nominated. Mike Fine discussed Keith Gabbard's career accomplishments. Mike Fine asked for a motion to appoint Keith Gabbard as Board Chair of the EKWIB. Paul Dole made the motion and Frank Dawahare seconded the motion. Mike Fine asked for any discussion. With no further discussion needed. All voted in favor, none opposed. The motion carried. Keith Gabbard chaired the remainder of the meeting.

Introduction of new EKWIB Members

Gilbert Holland, EKCEP BOD Chair, introduced the newly elected EKWIB members: Brandon Smith; Jennifer Lindon, Dennis Messer, Bruce Carpenter, and Raymond Banks.

Approval of December EKWIB Minutes

Keith Gabbard asked for a motion to approve the December 14, 2023 EKWIB minutes. Kevin Chesnut made the motion to approve the minutes. Tracey Smith seconded the motion. All voted in favor, none opposed. The motion carried.

EKWIB Committees:

Mike Fine discussed the partnership agreement between the EKWIB and the CEP. The plan is to create a Joint Partnership Agreement Committee between the WIB and CEP. The committee will consist of 4 members of the CEP and 4 members of the WIB and EKCEP's Executive Director. Mike Fine stated we anticipate the Chair and Vice-Chair of the CEP and WIB would be members of the committee. Members who would be interested in serving on the committee can email Michele Whitlock.

Rebecca Miller, EKCEP's Executive Director, directed everyone's attention to the informational packet that contained the Committee Responsibilities for the Executive, Policy & Strategic Planning, and Youth Committees. Rebecca Miller stated the WIB currently has all three committees, but the members of the committees need to be updated. Rebecca Miller asked each EKWIB member to email Michelle Whitlock if they were interested in serving on one of the committees. The new committee members will be appointed by the June 2024 meeting. Paul Patton asked if the committee members must represent business. Rebecca Miller stated they did not have to be from the business sector.

EKCEP Finance

- Gregory Caudill, Caudill and Associates CPA, discussed a quick overview of the 2022-2023 audit. The audit conducted was a "clean audit". The complete audit link was included in the EKWIB packet.
- Tonya Collins, EKCEP Director of Finance, discussed the EKCEP Statement of Expenditures for the 2nd quarter of the program year.
- Michele Whitlock, EKCEP Internal Auditor, discussed the process of reviewing EKCEP's Financial Policies and Procedures.

EKCEP Program Overview

- Bridget Back, EKCEP Deputy Director, discussed the second quarter performance reports. Rusty Justice asked if there was a "key" that links the contractor to the report. Rebecca Miller stated that is not something that is normally provided to the board. Frank Dawahare stated should the board not have this information. Rebecca Miller said the contractors are evaluated by the State. Rebecca Miller said she would put together a response and reply to the full board.
- Tesa Turner, EKCEP Special Populations Program Manager, discussed the Barrier Relief Program. Rusty Justice asked if this program relates to the WIB. Rebecca Miller said no, this is not related to WIOA.

Board Overview

- Rebecca Miller discussed the 2024 Board Retreat survey. The responses were favorable.
- Michele Whitlock discussed the Board Portal and the recent updates.
- Michele Whitlock reminded each member to complete their Conflict of Interest and submit it to Sharon Poff.

Open Discussion – Requested by Vice Chair

Keith Gabbard asked Frank Dawahare about the "open discussion" he had requested. Frank Dawahare stated he wanted to give members opportunity to ask any questions they may have. Frank Dawahare asked how many of the new board members were not present today. Keith Gabbard stated two of the new board members were not in attendance due to a schedule conflict. Paul Patton stated he had no idea how important this board was until Becky Miller had become Executive Director. Paul Patton stated this board's job is to grow the economy of East Ky. Paul Patton encouraged board members to take advantage of what this board does.

Adjournment

With no other business to discuss Keith Gabbard asked for a motion to adjourn. Paul Dole made the motion. Frank Dawahare seconded the motion. All voted in favor, none opposed. The motion carried.