

EKCEP Board of Directors Meeting Minutes December 11, 2024 10:30 a.m.

Attendees:

EKCEP BOD Members

Albey Brock – Vice Chair Proxy – Rob Lincks Bishop Johnson - Proxy – Samuel Lawson

Mark McKenzie Becky Walker

Tommy Harmon – Proxy Robin Whitaker Christine Gregory – Proxy Monia Whitaker

Connie Barnes Greg Motley

Carl Tolliver

Gilbert Holland – Chair Krystal Chapman Steve Silcox Susan Dunaway

Judy Roark Raymond Banks Walter Nixon Phyllis Lawson

Dean Hall - Proxy - Wanda Thacker

Terry Adams Mike Howell

Luther Blanton - Proxy Donna Pace

Jack Miniard

EKCEP Staff

Rebecca Miller Travis Winkler Michele Whitlock

Sharon Poff Tonya Collins Bridget Back

Melissa Williams

Cris Ritchie
Dottie Nolan
Lisa Meade
Jimmie Wilson
Vanessa Collier
Crissy Sexton
Bobbie Eldridge
Theresa Noble
Kaytlin Hoskins

Travis Hall Jordan Phipps Christina Sowders Jennifer Breeze

Absent BOD Members

Rodney Chrisman Dan Mosley Steve Mays Hubert Herald Derek Campbell

Guests

Mike Fine Bonnie Conn Jenni Hampton Tawny Acker Allison Brown

Angie Elliott Amber Teverbaugh Valrey Easterling JoAnn Nolan Ali Hill Bridget James

Brian Fields Martina Roe

Minutes

The Eastern Kentucky Concentrated Employment Program Board of Directors (EKCEP BOD) held its quarterly meeting on December 11, 2024 at 10:30 a.m. Due to weather conditions the meeting was conducted via Zoom.

Welcome and Roll Call

EKCEP BOD's Chair, Gilbert Holland called the meeting to order. All members were reminded to have their cameras on during the roll call and during voting. Mr. Holland also asked members to state their names as they make a 1st and 2nd motions. The roll call resulted in 22 BOD members being in attendance.

Minutes Approval

Chairman Holland asked for a motion to approve the minutes of the September 11, 2024 meeting. Connie Barnes made the motion to approve. Albey Brock seconded the motion. All voted in favor, none opposed. The motion carried.

EKCEP BOD New Member

Chairman Holland introduced Krystal Chapman as a new BOD member representing the target population.

EKWIB New Member Appointment

Chairman Holland discussed the recently added members to the EKWIB. Lisa Fannin, Preston Jones, Amy Greene, and Mikeal Fannin. The four new members represent the business sector. Chairman Holland asked for a vote to appoint these members to the EKWIB. Connie Barnes made the motion to approve. Sam Lawson seconded the motion. All voted in favor, none opposed. The motion carried.

HR Policy Update

Sharon Poff, EKCEP HR Director, discussed the updating of the EKCEP HR Policies. A new HR Policy Handbook will be brought before the EKCEP BOD the first quarter of 2025 for review and approval.

IT Policy

Travis Winkler, EKCEP IT Director, discussed the new IT Policies. A link to the new policies was provided to all EKCEP BOD members prior to the meeting. Connie Barnes made the motion to approve. Terry Adams seconded the motion. All voted in favor, none opposed. The motion carried. Becky Miller reminded the attendees that proxies could not vote, only members.

Conflict of Interest

Mike Fine discussed the annual Conflict of Interest form and the COI Disclosure. These forms will be emailed to all EKCEP BOD members. The completed forms are to be returned to Michele Whitlock.

State Performance Measures

Becky Miller discussed the letter EKCEP received from the State in reference to the performance measures for PY24 and PY25. Becky Miller also discussed the EKWIB map that was included in the packet. This map reflects that the EKWIB has member representation in all 9 of EKCEP's contractor areas.

Fund Development

Becky Miller discussed fund development/fund raising for EKCEP. Becky Miller is asking for approval to move in that direction to look and seek out nonfederal funds. Connie Barnes made the motion to approve exploring fund development. Phylis Lawson seconded the motion. All voted in favor, none opposed. The motion carried.

EKCEP Office Move

Becky Miller discussed the possibility of moving the EKCEP office to another location. The location is owned by LKLP and is in Hazard, Ky. Gilbert Holland asked for approval to move EKCEP's office location to this new location. Connie Barnes made the motion to approve. Gilbert Holland seconded the motion. All voted in favor, none opposed. The motion carried.

Program Updates

- Bridget Back, EKCEP's Deputy Director, discussed the first quarter reports for Business Services; Employer Resource Services; Teleworks; and Prosper Appalachia. Bridget Back also discussed the STORM grant and the H1B grant.
- Tonya Collins, EKCEP's Finance Director, discussed EKCEP's first quarter Financial Reports.
- Michele Whitlock, EKCEP's Internal Auditor discussed an update on a recent cyberattack. There were no EKCEP systems comprised.
- Cris Ritchie, EKCEP's Communication Director provided a grant information update.
- Jimmie Wilson, EKCEP's Recovery and Reentry Director provided an update on EKCEP's Recovery and Reentry Department.
- Travis Winkler updated the members on the process of updating the website and board portal.
- Michele Whitlock discussed the upcoming Direct Services and One-Stop Operator RFP timeline.

2025 Meeting Dates

Rebecca Miller reminded all members of the board that the board packets contain the 2025 meeting dates and times. Rebecca Miller also told the group that beginning in the March 2025 meeting we will have tablets available for any member attending in-person. Providing tablets, instead of printing copies will save time and money.

The next meeting will be conducted on March 12, 2025

Adjournment

With no further business to discuss, Chairman Holland asked for a motion to adjourn. Connie Barnes made the motion to adjourn. Phyllis Lawson seconded the motion. All voted in favor, none opposed. The motion carried.